2nd Solo Sail

In his e-book on Sailing Tips for Singlehanders, Andrew Evans notes that the thing that sets singlehanding apart from crewed sailing is that you will break down and cry by yourself, but not with others present.

I'm not in tears yet, but I can see how sailing can be a bit of emotional journey at times, and how it beckons your true self to come out. I find myself in all kinds of modes, trying to convince the headsail or jibsheets to do what I want them to. There's no room for facades.

My 2nd solo sail went better than the first, but I notably need to get a few more things squared away on my boat before I can really start singlehanding. I need an autopilot, so I can confidently leave the helm and go tend to other things. Without, I find myself not reefing when I should, not fixing my sail shape, or anything on the foredeck. I need a cleat for my mainsheet. And I need to get used to wearing a harness.


Yellow line is my track. I was sailing into 15 knot wind, against current.

Right as I was approaching my destination, my jibsheets tore free of the headsail, leaving a ragged edge to my headsail. So I guess I'm probably staying here until I get that fixed.

To prove that I was slightly more on top of things during the sail yesterday, I took a selfie. Here in one piece.