day 1

I'm a bit overwhelmed on how to get started with things, especially since I'm only in Grenada for a week before joining Bev on S/V Aseka to Bonaire.

I don't have a functioning outboard. There's no food and water on board, but I brought 3 gallons fresh water with me and 3 MREs that Kim R left me after our Colorado trip. So at least I can subsist for a few days and get rides as needed from my caretakers / Bev.

So I've signed up for the slow life. Here is an example of how that went down today. I found out the fin for my SUP fell out of my bag in the taxi. I was able to contact the taxi man and agree to meet him at the marina around 2pm. Since i don't have the outboard working, this meant paddling to the marina, which involved inflating the SUP, and preparing for a small expedition. I paddled the .75 mile into the wind on a fin-less SUP (without a fin it won't go straight), then sat at the marina to have a beer and use Wi-Fi, while I waited for the taxi man. Then I sat some more, paddled back to my boat ( now with a fin), tied up the board to the boat, and took a nap on the board, until some weather started to blow in. Now I'm sitting and enjoying the weather. Tough life.



***

Bev came over to my boat today, and says she has a friend who can give me advice on how to get things fixed. She says my boat is a great find, and it's great to hear another person confirm what I've hoped.

I also visited her catamaran. Her boat is definitely more comfortable than mine! House plants, corner booth seating, and you never have to leave the cockpit when sailing! Looking forward to sailing to Bonaire with her and Dudley, the other crew member.