I'm on a boat!


Reporting here from S/V Varuna.

Since I was the last person out of the airport, my taxi man Rawl asked if he could stop by a hotel to pick up leftover slop that he feeds to his (28?) Pigs that live higher up the mountain, so he wouldn't have to backtrack to the airport area on his way home for the night. He says he also grows avocados, (walnuts?), And some other things up on his land in the mountain. There's always the decision to trust the taxi man, but this decision felt easy. So on the way to the marina, where the caretakers would pick me up in their Venezuelan panga dinghy, we stopped for slop.

I got dinged $16 in customs for the SUP, but I reckon that is a reasonably acceptable tax rate, if you're going to be taxed.

Phew , it's hot and humid here. 88F. Apparently October is when it cools off.

Nice thing that I still have a half bottle of Kahlua on the boat for a small celebration on my first night here!