Sailing 101 and the trip to Carriacou

A few days in, and I'm still just at the foot of the learning curve. There are an amazing number of little things one needs to know, that I don't have a background in. For instance, as Bev was replacing a part of a block for the mainsail, she tells me to grab a line attached to the wind generator and tie it off, so that the wind generator won't turn with the wind and hit the boom, which is swinging. Immediate questions: where is the wind generator, which line, tie off where, and now, what type of knot? So one part, learning Bev's boat, one part, basic sailing 101.

Some of the things I'm having to learn are things that Bev is particular about (and undoubtedly for good reason, as she's set up a variety of systems to keep everything shipshape). For instance, in bringing the jibsheet line, she didn't want me standing without some how holding on to the boat, but given that pulling a line requires both hands, I had to work out how this was to be done.

Other things I struggle with are just little fumbly things -- trying to get a zipper to attach and zip, pulling the chain out of the anchor chain locker without making a mess, maneuvering a kayak over the bow, and not stubbing my tow on any of the steps that all are over the cockpit.

On my own boat, I was struggling with just getting some basic systems set up. How to shower without a shower, how to shave my legs, how to get into the water / out of the water without a substantial ladder, how to stow the SUP.

And then there are things for just taking care of yourself. How to avoid the sunshine in an area where you're always in the sunshine. How to keep your skin clean when part of bathing involves salt water. I"ve already gotten a number of ant bites, and there must have been a bugger biting me the other night as well. I have blisters on my toes from SUP'ing while kneeling. It's easy to feel beat up fairly quickly, but I imagine many of things I'll get used to, others I'll avoid; I'm not worried about it. The good news is I'm likely to slim down a bit with all this activity. Also, it's nice that Bev cooks every night (and she's quite the cook), as this means I probably eat a lot better foods than I would on my own.

The sail to Carriacou ended up being "baptism by fire." Bev intended to catch the "Sou'easter" up to Carricacou for around 25nm, which would have made it a nice little hop. But as is, a forecasted "Nor'easter" came in, which meant the wind was directly on our nose. To make it worse, a strong current pushes West from between Grenada and Carriacou, which meant we were beating into the wind AND being pushed out from where we were trying to go. As we were pushed out, Bev tacked a few times to try to make our way back in towards Carriacou. A late start due to waiting on a boat part, and the conditions, meant we didn't get into Tyrell Bay til after dark. Bev anchored far out, as to avoid any traffic.

At night, the water was clear. Bev turned on blue lights on the under side of the catamaran, which attracted a swarm of little fishes. I watched as bigger fish lurked just beyond the reach of the light.

The next day we moved closer into the beach at Tyrell Bay, so that we are now about 50m off the beach.


Dudley, the other crew (an older fellow from Australia), and I are very much living in Bev's space. (This boat is her home.) So yesterday we struck out to explore the island and give Bev some space. We climbed up a road that turned into a jeep track that nearly topped out at the highest point on the island.


Little houses along the way are very full of character, with a variety of facades and colors often being combined in one little house. The roads are much quieter than on Grenada, as there are only tiny towns on this island. We had a hamburger at the tourist restaurant in Hillsborough (as it was the only place open on a Sunday), and then walked back to Tyrell Bay via a hidden little trail through the mangroves.

Beginning of the mangrove trail:


Today has been a quick kayak through the mangroves lining the bay. I reckon there will be some grocery shopping, and some boat maintenance 101.


Another still day in Tyrell Bay at Carriacou (Grenada).