Travel details for early planners, Nov-Dec 2016

Welcome to the slow life. Life on a boat on an island is a bit different, so here are a few details about the boat and the life.

About the boat

The boat is small. At a total of 33' long, 10' wide, the actual living space down below on my boat is probably about 120 sq. ft, including a 2/3 double bed. There is ~25 sq ft space in the cockpit, outside the cabin. I can barely fit on to the marine toilet. As such, I can only accommodate one person, or maybe a person and a kid.

Sleeping quarters

Guests can stay on the 2/3 double bed. (Bring your own sheet; I don't have a washing machine.) I will be just outside on the settee couch. There are no doors except for the marine toilet (head).

Showering

There really isn't significant shower space. I have a solar shower setup in the cockpit, and hopefully by then I'll have fashioned a reasonable curtain. So you'll be showering outside (with curtain) unless you prefer to squeeze into the head.

Water

Another huge limitation on this boat is the lack of fresh water. All fresh water has to be hauled there. I'll try to bring extra water on board for you, but just realize that this is more like backpacking life as far as water availability goes. I usually max out at a couple liters for a shower (I wash my hair in the ocean and then fresh water rinse.)... I wouldn't expect you to be as frugal as me, but if you use too much, it'll require a water run (and I also pay by the gallon... not free). (Note to self: shower options available on land?)

Electricity


I have an DC / AC converter, but it requires a big draw from the battery. If you can get by without your 2- or 3-pronged wall plugged electronics, then leave them at home. (Read: hair dryers, curling irons, and laptop computers are a hassle.) I have cigarette lighter -> USB dc power points. Bring your own cigarette lighter charger, or use one of mine (USB).

Air Temp

There is no a/c on the boat. Tropical temps can get up to 90 during the heat of the day. If the wind is blowing, this is not a problem, but you can expect to feel sweaty at some point.

Cruising

I"m currently planning to move the boat up to Carriacou (Tyrell Bay) by November. Carriacou is a $30 ferry ride away from Grenada. I may or may not be set to sail between Carriacou and Grenada to meet you there when you fly in, so you may need to take the ferry across.

If we go anywhere, guests on board will need to serve as crew. I suggest watching some youtube videos on how to load / crank / release a winch, and how to set and weigh anchor. I'll go over these things when we do them as well.

Since i'm a novice sailor, I will not be sailing anywhere unless the weather is favorable.

THere's off chance that the boat will not be ready to sail anywhere by this time, in which case we can sleep on board but do more land-based activities.

Entertainment options

  • Paddle around via SUP (only have 1 SUP)
  • Swimming / snorkeling
  • Reading, chillaxing
  • Grilling out (on board)
  • Day sailing (given good weather)
  • Work on boat projects
  • Beach WOD / walk on beach
  • Explore inland
  • hand line fishing?

Carriacou Travel

Ferry info: http://www.ospreylines.com/index.php/schedule-fares
There's one main town (Hillsborough), and two bus lines. Right now, I'm thinking it'll be reasonable to do short day sails to Sandy Island and other nearby locations.

Activities in Carriacou:

  • Biking into town on a folding bike. (I only have 1 bike)
  • Hiring a scuba dive trip - Arowak Divers, Lumber Dive ( I won't be doing this, but you can)
  • Hike to highest point on island
  • Go visit boat builders on far side of island
  • Look for entertainment options on land


Boat rules

Since it's a small space, and since negligence can cause safety issues, I'll give you an orientation on how to do things on the boat, such as:

  • pump the head (marine toilet)... no TP in the head!
  • stow your wet clothes on life lines
  • climb into the boat safely
  • move around the deck
  • Use the vhf radio
  • Safety emergency procedures


Alternatives to boat life / Stuff to see in Grenada

Consider doing a day or 2 in Grenada, as there's a bit more to see there. I may be able to join you for this. Potential to sail there.

It's also worth looking into this in the event that you h have seasickness on the boat.

There are airbnb options there.
Take a day tour of the island.
Visit underwater sculpture garden
Take Bus 2 across town.
VIsit waterfalls.
Chocolate factory visit
Rent kayaks for a guided paddle around

Costs

Flyng to Grenada will be the most. AA has direct flights from Miami. Sign up for a credit card with AA, and you might have enough miles to go for free

I am on a budget of $800/mo. I'm going to be asking you to cover food costs for the week. I'm thinking something like $25/day for food, water, gas. (More often, I cook/ enjoy drinks on board.) You also pay additional for mooring fees, eating out at restaurants, or country check in fees, if we go up to St Vincent & Grenadines. We can work on a cheaper rate if needed, but in general, things can cost a bit more out here. I'd like to find a rate that's cheap for you, but doesn't set me back.

Pack list

* Sheet, pillow case
* Light swim towel
* Fins
* Snorkel/ mask or swim goggles
* Loufa or wash rag to go with your soap
* we can do hand laundry on the boat, so if you want to just pack for 3-5 days and wash, that works... or pack full trip.
* Sunscreen (non spray)
* Insect repellant
* Wet wipes can be nice to supplement showers
* Passport
* USB or cigarette lighter chargers.
* Dramamine, if you think you'll be susceptible to seasickness
* A good hat & sunglasses
* Sail gloves


I might also ask you to bring a thing or 2 from the US that i can't get out here.

Other details

  • Grenada is in zika zone. if you are thinking about reproducing, take that into account
  • Grenada customs charges 6% on value of goods over $150 brought into country. Pack light, so you won't be a target for customs


Planning

  • Let me know what you might want to do for food over your visit. Since provisioning is a full day project, I can do that before you visit. Or if you prefer, we can go to the shop together. But since we're going by foot / bus, it's not a quick stop. Note that my refrigeration is limited, so I won't be able to store a week of steaks... I'll be supplementing from cans, or going to reprovision.
  • Drinks? Let me know what you'd like... Mixed drinks or wine are easier to do than beers.
  • I don't have insurance on my boat. If you get injured, I won't be able to cover you financially. Consider getting your own travel medical insurance. Worldnomads.com
  • I have 1 extra pfd on my boat. If you can't swim, feel dizzy, etc, you might want to wear it while underway.
  • Sailing, especially with a novice has inherit risks. Be aware of these risks...

Schedule

  • I'm in Austin Dec 19 - Jan 2.
  • I have a guest on board Nov 19- Nov 28
  • Currently all time outside of that span is open.