Travel details for hurricane season

Welcome to the slow life. Life on a boat on an island is a bit different, so here are a few details about the boat and the life.

About the boat

The boat is small. At a total of 33' long, 10' wide, the actual living space down below on my boat is probably about 120 sq. ft, including a 2/3 double bed. There is ~25 sq ft space in the cockpit, outside the cabin. I can barely fit on to the marine toilet. As such, I can only accommodate one person, or two people, but it’ll be tight! (Could maybe fit 3 people, but again, you’ll all be on top of each other.)

The boat is old and not perfect. There are leaks. Things break all the time on boats.

Original site on the boat (but now it’s less pristine): http://www.verywellsalted.com/

I only have a row dinghy. It is a challenge to carry 3 people in it, so if needed, we can also use the paddleboard to get people and luggage to shore. If you want to pay for it, I could look for a rental dinghy with outboard for the week.

Sleeping quarters

There isn’t a heck ton of privacy. There is a 2/3 double bed and, just outside the berth (no door, but a curtain), there’s a settee couch. The only door is for the marine toilet (head).

Showering

There really isn't significant shower space. I have a solar shower setup that i use up on the deck (wear a swimsuit or go however makes you happy, especially at night), or in the tiny head space. There is access to a land-based shower in the park in Fort de France

Toilet

The toilet dumps poo straight into the ocean. (This is not uncommon amongst cruising boats.) I hate this setup, and I’m wanting to switch to a composting system, but they cost $1000. I might upgrade to a bucket.

Water

Another huge limitation on this boat is the lack of fresh water. All fresh water has to be hauled there . I'll try to bring extra water on board for you, but just realize that this is more like backpacking life as far as water availability goes. I usually max out at a couple liters for a shower (I wash my hair in the ocean and then fresh water rinse.)...

Electricity


I have an DC / AC converter, but if you can get by without your 2- or 3-pronged wall plugged electronics, then leave them at home. I have DC (cigarette lighter) plugs that you can plug USB-chargeable devices into.

Air Temp

There is no a/c on the boat. Tropical temps can get up to 90 during the heat of the day. If the wind is blowing, this is not a problem, but you can expect to feel sweaty at some point.

Internet

I use Google Fi data, and i can share a little, but I have a limit on data. There is a free wifi on land.

Cruising

June - November is hurricane season, with Aug-Sep being the major hurricane months. While there isn’t a hurricane on its way, some sailing day trips can still be had.

I plan to be in [ Martinique/ or Carriacou? (Bequia? Grenada?)] - both of which have reasonable day sails.

If we go anywhere, guests on board will need to serve as crew. If you want, watch some youtube videos on basics of sailing. But I'll show you everything you need to do. (Hold the tiller, mostly, unless you’d like to be more involved.)

I will not be sailing anywhere unless the weather is favorable.

.

General things to do on the boat

  • Paddle around via SUP (only have 1 SUP that can carry 2 people )
  • Swimming / snorkeling
  • Reading, chillaxing, hammock life
  • Grilling out (on board)
  • Day sailing (given good weather)
  • Work on boat projects!
  • Beach walk!
  • Explore inland
  • hand line fishing
  • Street parties
  • Boat parties
  • Drinking
  • Dinghy rowing
  • Cook things
  • Climb the mast
  • Play bananagrams, cards, or “washers and dimes" (Go)

Alternative activities in Martinique

  • I might be able to help you find a boat going to St Lucia and back
  • Camp at Emma & Erickson’s in Dominica - soon-to-be yoga retreat that lives off the land next to the river (costs: a bag of groceries; you can borrow my camping gear)
  • Stay with Aaron in Dominica, who takes volunteers interested in learning about permaculture lifestyle
  • Take a ferry between Martinique, St Lucia, Dominica and/or Guadeloupe
  • Go couch surf
  • Go hike Mount Pelee
  • Visit St. Pierre, a city of 30,000 that was destroyed by a volanco because the government gave into corporate interests in not wanting to evacuate


Where to go?

I have no fixed itineraries, and I’m pretty flexible, as long whatever you want to do will work with hurricane season… Below is stuff I wrote a while ago for Carriacou mostly, but I could arrange to be somewhere else.


Carriacou Travel

Ferry info: http://www.ospreylines.com/index.php/schedule-fares
There's one main town (Hillsborough), and two bus lines. It’s reasonable to do day sails throughout Grenadines from here.

Activities in Carriacou:

  • Hiring a scuba dive trip - Arowak Divers, Lumber Dive ( I won't be doing this, but you can)
  • Hike to highest point on island
  • Go visit boat builders on far side of island
  • Find that scottish graveyard that fell into the sea
  • Cookout on the beach
  • Friday night street party. - work on twerking skills for this
  • Camp out on a beach
  • Hang out with Rastas?
  • Fly a kite!


Martinique Travel

Martinique is Europe! THere is a lot of great cheese here.

Boat rules

Since it's a small space, you’ll need to be respectful of the space! Also, there are safety issues, and it’s easy to break / lose things / kill yourself. Here are some things I’ll show you how to do:

  • pump the head (marine toilet)... no TP in the head!
  • climb into the boat safely
  • climb out of the boat safely
  • move around the deck
  • Use the vhf radio
  • Safety emergency procedures



Stuff to see in Grenada


If the starting point is Carriacou, you’ll need to fly into Grenada and take the ferry across.

Consider doing a day or 2 in Grenada, as there's a bit more to see there. Potential to sail there.

It's also worth looking into this in the event that you h have seasickness on the boat.

There are airbnb options there.
Take a day tour of the island.
Visit underwater sculpture garden
Take Bus 2 across town.
VIsit waterfalls.
Chocolate factory visit
Rent kayaks for a guided paddle around

Costs

Flyng to Caribbean will be the biggest cost for the trip. AA has direct flights from Miami to Grenada. Sign up for a credit card with AA, and you might have enough miles to go for free

I am on a budget. I’m not charging you to be on the boat, but I would like for you to cover costs so I’m not set back by you being here.


Food / water/ gas costs: $20/ day (More often, I cook/ enjoy drinks on board.) I can’t afford to eat at restaurants, but you can do that. There are country check-in / check-out fees if we go up to St Vincent & Grenadines (Something around $30), and if we take a mooring ball in a park, that’s $10/night or something like that.

Pack list

* Sheet, pillow case
* Light swim towel
* Fins
* Snorkel/ mask or swim goggles
* Loufa or wash rag to go with your soap
* we can do hand laundry on the boat, so if you want to just pack for 3-5 days and wash, that works... or pack full trip.
* Swimming suit
* Sunscreen (non spray)
* Insect repellant
* Wet wipes can be nice to supplement showers
* Passport
* USB or cigarette lighter chargers.
* Dramamine, if you think you'll be susceptible to seasickness. Canadian seasickness drug “Sturgeon" can be ordered online is supposed to be better than dramamine
* A good hat & sunglasses
* Sail gloves if you have them , but i have extra — my extras are getting pretty ratty
* only need land shoes - go barefoot on the boat
* Soft-sided bag, no rolly cases. Bring daypack for land trips
* Water bottle
* US Dollars - if you bring US Dollars, make sure they are crisp ones
* Any favorite proteins, specialty foods or snacks
* Bring some new music. (Streaming is not easy to do, so download)
* Ear plugs
* Day pack for the city / woods
* rain jacket



I might also ask you to bring a thing or 2 from the US that i can't get out here.

Other details

  • Much of Caribbean is in zika zone. if you are thinking about reproducing, take that into account
  • Grenada customs charges 6% on value of goods over $150 brought into country. Pack light, so you won't be a target for customs


Planning

  • Let me know what you might want to do for food over your visit. Since provisioning can be a full day project, I can do that before you visit. Or if you prefer, we can go to the shop together. I have limited refrigeration capabilities
  • Drinks? Let me know what you'd like...
  • I don't have insurance on my boat. If you get injured, I won't be able to cover you financially. Consider getting your own travel medical insurance. Worldnomads.com
  • I have 2 total pfd's on my boat. If you can't swim, feel dizzy, etc, you might want to wear one while underway. (I use a harness while sailing)
  • Sailing, especially with a green sailor (me) has inherit risks. Be aware of these risks...

Schedule